Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the governing body of SCGIS. The board is responsible for steering SCGIS activities and has all final decision making authority. Board members are elected every three years. Once a complete board is elected, members of the board elect the President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary. These officers can hold their positions for one year. Elections usually occur after or during the Annual Conference in July.

The SCGIS board would be happy to hear from you. We can be reached at board(at)


Your 2018-2019 SCGIS Board of Directors!


Fourth Row, left to right: Kellee Koenig, Monica Noon (Secretary), Mervyn Lotter

Third Row: Michelle Kinzel, Healy Hamilton

Second Row: Nathan Walker, Jason Winner (Treasurer), Vivienne Sclater (Vice President), Derek Masaki

First Row: Rebecca Degagne, Jocelyn Tutak, Janet Nackoney (President), Meg Southee, Karen Beardsley

Not Present: Miguel Fernandez


Advisory Council

The SCGIS Advisory Council supports the Board of Directors and SCGIS committees in their duties and decision-making, and are encouraged to serve as mentors to new officers. Members are former board officers, co-founders, or have otherwise made significant contributions to the development of SCGIS and its programs.